BPC celebrates 67th year anniversary, induction of new officers

The new set of officers of Bulacan Press Club For the year 2019 to 2021 led by Jennifer Raymundo (5th from left) are sworn in office to National Press Club president Rolando Gonzalo (2nd from left) during the 67th years anniversary of the province oldest and existing media group on Monday, November 4, 2019. (Photo courtesy of BPC)

CITY OF MALOLOS, Bulacan –The province oldest media organization in this province celebrates its 67th year Founding Anniversary on Monday with grief as ten of its members have died of sickness in recent years.

The Bulacan Press Club Inc, was founded in 1952 by Emilio Bautista, also one of the founders of the National Press Club which was established earlier that same year.

Bautista, then Correspondent of the old defunct Manila Times was joined by then-junior Bulacan-based veteran journalists Fred Roxas and Ben Gamos.

Atty. Jesus Matic of Reflector weekly newspaper from Baliwag town, Jose Rey Munsayac of Luzon Times, Perfecto Raymundo of Mabuhay came next as the succeeding presidents followed by Lamberto Matic, Mar Punongbayan, Rodrigo M. Reyes of People’s Journal, Jun Borlongan of Abante, Joey Inot, Loren Banag, and Chat Lazaro-Petallana.

Roy B. Reyes of the Bulacan News Catcher followed in 2011, Cecilio Franista of Luzon Times in 2013, Carmela Reyes-Estrope of Philippine Daily Inquirer in 2015 and outgoing present Fredrick Silverio of the present Manila Times as the outgoing president from his 2017-2019 term.

Jenny Raymundo of Mabuhay, daughter of Perfecto and Thony Arcenal, TV 5 stringer and were sworn in on Monday as the new president and vice president respectively.

The Bulacan Press Club with slogan and motto, “Hindi mabubusalan ang katotohanan” has been a constant partner in community building in Bulacan and in the country by both reporting relevant news stories and by criticizing the flaws in the governance of local and even national leaders including corruption and incompetencies.

In 1984, Bulacan Press Club officials and the National Press Club joined together in bringing home the remains of Marcelo H. Del Pilar, the father of Philippine Journalism at his birthplace in Cupang, San Nicolas in Bulakan town.

On October 7, Ram Barcelona, 64, of DWAD, local newspapers News Core, News Catcher and Bulacan local radios died of lung ailment. Romy Domalaon, 54 of Rekta Balita and DZRJ died on February.

On January 25, Romeo “Boy” Cruz, 64 of Pilipino Star Ngayon died of a similar lung ailment. Earlier in the same month, Perfecto, 82 died due also of sickness on January 2 and Jhun Sese, 59 of DZME died also of ailment on January 4.

Former member Bernardo “Kojak” Manansala, 64 died last year. In 2017, Rene “RJ” Acosta, 53, of Remate and columnist of Bulacan weekly papers, Eddie Buan, 60 of DWAD and Eusebio Cruz, 72, of Bulgar died in 2017. Emil Gamos, 53, formerly of People’s Journal and People’s Journal Tonight and Philippine News Agency (PNA) died December 2017. In 2014, Dino Balabo, 45, of Philippine Star and a part-time Bulacan State University journalism instructor and a multi-awarded writer died in 2014.

Other officers who also sworn into office for the year 2019-2021 were Rosette Reyes, secretary (RONDA Balita), Florida Teodoro, treasurer (News Watcher), Marcelino Gabe, auditor, (NewsCore), Anton Luigi Catindig, Sgt at arms (NewsCore) and Board of Directors composed of Corsini Reyes (News Catcher), Omar Padilla (Pilipino Star Ngayon), Vhioly Arizala (RONDA Balita), Manny Balbin (PNA/RONDA), Rommel Manahan (Rekta Balita) and Manny Dela Cruz (Mabuhay/RONDA Balita).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here