RDC lauds gov’t agencies, LGUs for efforts in addressing avian influenza outbreak in Central Luzon

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, Pampanga — Regional Development Council (RDC) has passed a resolution commending national government agencies and local government units (LGUs) for their exemplary efforts and decisive actions in addressing the recent avian influenza outbreak in the affected areas of Central Luzon.

Among those who were lauded include Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Health (DOH), Office of the Civil Defense, Department Social Welfare and Development, 7th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army, Philippine National Police, Bureau of Fire Protection, and Philippine Information Agency.

Also, the provincial governments of Pampanga and Nueva Ecija as well as the municipal governments of San Luis, Apalit, Candaba, Minalin, Mexico, San Simon, Sta. Ana, and Sto. Tomas.

“DA, in coordination with DOH and concerned LGUs, has conducted investigations and containment activities during the outbreak which include flu vaccinations and protective equipment for poultry handlers and responders,” RDC Vice Chair and National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) Regional Director Severino Santos said.

Other remarkable undertakings and interventions include the declaration of quarantine area and establishment of 12 quarantine checkpoints within one-kilometer radius; monitoring of the poultry movement and its products and by-products within seven-kilometer radius; enforcement of proper disposal of feeds, poultry products, and by-products; disinfection of all farm equipment, vehicles, and facilities; and compensation for the affected poultry raisers within the quarantine area.

RDC 3 is the highest policy-making body in Central Luzon and serves as the counterpart of the NEDA Board at the subnational level.

It is the primary institution that coordinates and sets the direction of all economic and social development efforts in the region and serves as a forum where local efforts can be related and integrated with national development activities.

Council members include all governors, city mayors, municipal mayors of capital towns, presidents of mayors league, regional directors of national government agencies and representatives from the private sector.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here